{The Beauty of Coconut Oil}

We’ve all been hearing about coconut oil lately, and its many uses outside of the kitchen! I’ve been trying them out and I have to say i’m in love and am making coconut oil a staple in my bathroom! Here’s a quick list of all the great ways to use it!

ImageImage

Elbows, cracked heels: Its common for us to get super dry and cracked on our elbows and the heels of our feet. Use coconut oil on its own or mixed with your favorite lotion in those areas, it will really make a difference. I like to mix it with my foot cream and put it all over my feet, then put my super soft socks on for a little treatment after a home pedicure. It’s the perfect finish!

Face and Lips: I have super dehydrated skin and sometimes because of that it can look dull so i’m always trying to find ways to make it look fresh and to brighten it up. Lately i’ve been mixing a small amount of coconut oil to my face cream at night. After the first night I could already tell a difference. Not only did it tighten up my face, it looked so fresh and soft in the morning. Now it’s something I do a couple times a week!

Hair: It’s that time of year again when everybody gets dry hair and we try everything to keep it hydrated. I like to use this a few different ways. The first way is to rub some straight onto the mid shaft and ends of your hair over night and then wash it out in the morning. The second is to mix it with a hair mask or deep conditioner and do a quick 10 minute (or longer) treatment on the hair (applying heat is an added help).

Image

Scalp: Dry skin comes with a dry scalp, take some coconut oil on your fingertips and massage it into your scalp leave it for a few minutes or over night to hydrate and help with dry dandruff.

Body: I love making home made beauty products. One of my favorite things to make is a body scrub. It’s also a great gift for a friend. It’s cute to package up in a small mason jar with some ribbon and fabric!

Image

1 cup organic brown sugar

1/2 cup oatmeal (oats)

1/3 cup sea salt

1/2 cup coconut oil

1 Tbsp Vitamin E

Add a few drops of your favorite essential oil for scent, mix all together and you’re good to go!

Here’s some other great uses:

-Use in place of shaving cream

-Use as a makeup remover

-Use it to treat skin irritations

-Use on bee stings or bug bites to soothe

-Use it to remove gum from your kid’s hair

-Use to help boost weightloss

Have fun with your coconut oil adventures!

Until next time.

Peace Out!

Leave a comment